Cakes and sweets

Review: Rosina Makes, Brighton

If you follow my Instagram feed, then you’ll know that I love sweet treats – especially cake. Seven years ago, the gf cake offerings were enough to make anyone cry (and not tears of joy) – styrofoam-esque, flavorless sponge with bland flavour had me pining for the good ol’ days. Thankfully, while there are still rather a few gluten free baking duds on offer in supermarkets and restaurants, there are also now plenty of incredible options for us coeliacs to indulge in – and I was fortunate enough to discover another one recently.
Screen Shot 2017-07-14 at 11.44.56 AM
P1020042 (2)Screen Shot 2017-07-14 at 11.44.56 AM
Based in the Brighton area, Rosina Makes is run by Tasha and her partner Ricky, and they create both sweet and savoury baked goods – and everything is vegan, too. I had a chat with them at their stall and learned that they started the business after Tasha, who was juggling lots of dietary intolerances alongside a vegan diet, struggled to find delicious cake that she could enjoy safely – so started making her own. Rosina Makes has been in business now for a couple of years and in that short time has already gained a loyal fanbase – and, after trying a couple the cakes for myself, it’s not difficult to see why.

Screen Shot 2017-07-14 at 11.44.56 AM
P1020017 (1)
P1020022 (2)Screen Shot 2017-07-14 at 11.44.56 AM
On the day that I visited their stall, the sweet treats included everything from Bakewell tart, Millionaire’s slice and refined sugar-free banana muffins to multicolored cake (it was Pride weekend in Brighton), coffee cake and a fun tiger striped cake. There was also cake jars and savory goodies too, including ‘sausage’ rolls and a new addition to their line up of a vegetable quiche. However, my sweet tooth wins out every time and, after much deliberation, went for a slice of Bakewell tart and a piece of coffee cake. One of my all-time favorites, the Bakewell tart had a lot to live up to – and it far exceeded my expectations. Many gluten free (and vegan) cakes have the misfortune of being incredibly dry, and this was anything but – the soft base comprised a layer of delicious raspberry jam and struck the ideal flavour balance; evidently nutty without being overwhelming so. And, for the perfect finish, the top layer of icing was thick and smooth. The coffee cake was equally impressive, with a rich taste and some of the moistest sponge I’ve ever encountered in a gluten free bake. Meanwhile, the beautiful decoration was, quite literally, the perfect icing on the cake, with a creamy texture and scattering of crunchy walnuts that complemented the soft sponge wonderfully.
Screen Shot 2017-07-14 at 11.44.56 AM
P1020027 (1)
P1020035 (1)
Screen Shot 2017-07-14 at 11.44.56 AM
Rosina Makes is often at fairs and events in and around Brighton, so if you’re in the area I’d highly recommend checking out where and when they’re selling. Plus, I was informed that they’re looking into the possibility of doing mail orders, especially for their nifty cake jars, so keep a look out for those as well. I can’t believe it’s only now that I’m discovering them myself – but, as they say, better late than never – and I can’t wait to try even more of their bakes in future.
Screen Shot 2017-07-14 at 11.44.56 AM
P1020020 (1)
Screen Shot 2017-07-14 at 11.44.56 AM
